Ode to Cinda

Jesus may be the reason for your season (unless you’re Donnie, then the Kwanzaa Donkey is), but Cinda is the reason for mine.  Six years ago, I gave birth to the the most wonderful person I’ve ever had the pleasure of knowing and there is no single person on this earth that I love more.  Life since Cinda has been here has been anything but boring and I cherish everyday with her…except those days when I want to choke the bejeezus out of her…which is everyday…go figure…so I decided to flex my poetry skills in honor of the one true love of my life.  Get to snapping.

Night before last, when you wouldn’t go to bed,

I had multiple hallucinations of slapping you across the head.

That day when you used nail polish to paint me that beautiful work of art,

You’re so lucky I didn’t stop your tiny little heart.

Tantrums in Target

Jumping around in Jewel

Disappearing in Dominicks

How many times did I want to leave your little yellow behind at the zoo?

Remember that day when you ran from me and hid behind the clothes?

You need to be thanking the Lord I didn’t bloody your nose.

It’s amazing that this week is when you finally lost your first teeth.

Because you don’t know how close they’ve come to being knocked into next week.

Despite your smart mouth and your only child psychosis

The naughtiness others only get in small doses.

I love you more than you could possibly know.

From your wild curly hair to your tiny baby toe.

I love your sassy little poses.

That you think that I love roses (I don’t).

Your kisses on my cheek because you don’t like lippers.

When you were two and walked around in high heeled slippers.

I love being your mommy, I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Thank you for being my special little girl.

The End

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. venushousepubs
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 08:17:47

    This is hilarious! I needed that laugh. Funny how we can love them SO much yet they get on our nerves just as much. Ah, the joy of motherhood.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

