Mulattos, Quadroons, and Octoroons

My daughter is Black, Vietnamese and White. Her dad is Vietnamese and White. Her paternal grandmother is a little old Vietnamese woman from the country Vietnam. Her paternal grandfather is a medium old White man from Indiana. I married their half-breed son and had myself a little tri-breed baby. Wanna know why that’s important? It’s NOT! For the past eight years, however, I’ve heard the most asinine shit in regards to both my half-breed ex-husband and our tri-breed child. Most of it is has been laughable, but some utterances have caused me to question the true existence of common sense. While I welcome curiosity and inferences, one can only wonder what causes even the most intelligent people to say and ask the most stupid shit ever.

He’s Vietnamese and White? Damn, how did that happen?!

Ok, perhaps no one has ever told you that you were fine, but my beauty transcends ethnicities, assholes! So does my intellect, experiences, hobbies, likes and dislikes. Don’t hem me up with your limitations just because you love Black Love and think the only way you can experience love is with someone black. (Just in case you’re wondering: I met my ex-husband at work, he thought I was pretty, he didn’t “act black” and my parents liked him.) Furthermore, while we (us) claim to collectively embrace others, it’s still an oddity for black woman to date anything other than a black man, while black men don’t get the incredulous stares from black women when they date Others. You know who I get most of the bullshit from? Black men. The whole, “What?! We weren’t good enough?” If y’all can like em brown, yellow, Puerto Rican or Haitian, so can we! For the record, I love black men…actually, I love men so when I met my friend’s fine ass Colombian brother at the club, the last thing I was thinking about was him not being black. I only see two things when I look at men: looks and gainful, legal employment, so if you have a problem with me dating black, white and everything in between, two words: Fuck off!

Your baby is gonna be pretty, have good hair, etc.

First of all, my child’s genetic probability of being attractive was pretty fucking high BECAUSE I’M PRETTY not because her blackness was compromised with Asian and Caucasian DNA. And as far as that good hair is concerned, I don’t know what to do with that mess on her head!!!!!! I used to laugh at white people with little Negro children with their hair all over their head. Now I hang my head in shame as I peruse the hair products section (as opposed to the ethnic care aisle) searching for the right Pantene Pro-V product. Recently, someone on twitter tried to “check” me for my Troy Polomalu reference in regards to my child’s hair. A) Fuck yo couch. B) I don’t need to allude to my child’s good hair. If I wanted to say that dumb shit, I’d fucking say it and C) Her hair DOES look like Troy Polomalu’s hair. I always have a point, whether you like it or not, and it is as follows: Nothing about my daughter’s ethnicity makes her special. What makes her special is the fact that she’s brilliant, charming, adorable, and MINE!!! I didn’t marry her daddy so she could be light-skinded with good hair. I married the bastard because I loved him. Truth be told, I just knew I was getting a little brown baby with nappy hair, just like her mammie.

What’s your baby’s nationality? I saved the best for last. Yes, I have had educated individuals ask me what might be THE most ignorant shit ever!!! What the fuck you mean what’s her nationality?! AMERICAN you dumb shit!!!! While everyone may not get the differences among race, nationality, and ethnicity, I fully expect someone with half a brain to understand that everyone born in America is fucking American. Yes, I check more than one box. Yes, if there’s only one box, I check black. No, she’s not Hispanic. If you need to ask all those damn questions, then you probably don’t need to ask me any, cuz it sounds like you’re minding too much of my business.

I don’t have race hang ups. I know I’m a black woman living in America. I know how hard it is for some of us to be black in America. But funny thing is, I see my race as the last thing holding me back. Being a single mother is WAY more of an obstacle. Don’t make your race and ethnicity issues about me, because frankly, I don’t have any so you can miss me with them. I will continue to relax the shit out of my hair, push up on white boys who look like Brad Pitt, and raise Baby Troy Polomalu because at the end of the day, I’m comfortable being a black woman and I have the big booty, wide nose, and thick lips to prove it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meki
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 20:05:14

    Love it! If I had a blog I would have requested permission to re-post.

    Reply

  2. natalie
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 06:24:17

    I love it a Black woman who says I am Black, I date outside my race and I am proud of being Black!
    It must be annoying to get all these comments but strive with them, its annoying that Whites treat you a certain way but as soon as they find out that you date White your all of a sudden acceptable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

