Useless Emotions

I do things slightly different than other folks do. Some of my friends call me crazy, and at first I used to get offended, but now I realize that they’re just saying that my reactions to situations are not what everyone else would do. I’m not like everyone else, though. I’m not the unique artsy chick that spells her name with a “G” instead of a “J” or finds cool clothes in thrift stores. On the outside, I’m pretty plain…nothing too exotic and interesting. But on the inside, it’s a whole different ballgame. I’ve tried to do away with illogical emotions, emotions that make zero sense and do the most damage to one’s psyche. These are feelings that can rot a person from the inside out and make the most sensible person a raging lunatic. I try very hard not to let jealousy, embarrassment, and hopelessness get the best of me.

Jealousy When I was younger my mom told me about a lady at her church with a huge house, brand new luxury car, fine clothes, and expensive jewelry. One day, my mother told her, “Oooh girl, I wish I had a nice house like yours.” The woman looked at mother sadly and replied, “I wish I had three beautiful children like yours.” Heavy, I know. No matter what someone else has, there is always something they DON’T have and I’m pretty sure there is an email being forwarded around that says the same thing. I’ve had women treat me like garbage without knowing me because they see what’s on the outside and assume they know what I’m about, when the truth of the matter is, my looks are last on my “Cool Things About Jennifer” list. Envy is a natural emotion, it happens to us all. What one does with this envy is what controls the situation. If material possessions are what you’re after, go out and get them, but do it with the understanding that things don’t make a person happy. What you seek should be what makes you happy, and what someone else has may not be it for you. I spent a great deal of time having desires for things that just weren’t meant for me to have, and I’m sure I missed out on a lot. I can’t say that I never feel a pang of jealousy when I see two parents and their children playing together in the park, but I look at my life and wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

Embarrassment One day I was out at Ice Bar with some friends (I’m old) and there was this chick dancing, spinning her ass off. It was the single most funny thing I had ever seen in my life and of course, me being the asshole that I am, decided to imitate her. I began spinning around, flailing my arms like a bird. I spun my silly ass right on my back. I laid on the ground for what seemed like an eternity while a small crowd gathered around to see if I was ok. I opened my eyes and laughed like a wild woman because guess what? THAT’S WHAT I GOT FOR IMITATING THE SPINNING CHICK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I got up, fixed my hair and continued partying without even a hint of embarrassment. I don’t get embarassed. Perhaps that’s why I say and do whatever I want. I don’t take myself seriously at all. Why should I? I’m a first grade teacher who likes men, wine, and shopping. Nothing about me is serious, so why should I care if people laugh when I do something funny, whether it was on purpose or not. I learned a long time ago that life just isn’t that grave and if you’re not out curing AIDS or stopping the Gulf Coast oil leak cleaning the Gulf Coast oil leak, your life isn’t that serious, either. You’re not too good to make mistakes and once you realize that, life will be a lot more enjoyable. **spins away**

Hopelessness
One of my favorite Lauryn Hill lines of all times is “I was hopeless, now I’m on Hope Road”. I’ve been through a lot. A whole lot. More than I ever thought I would EVER go through and I’m only one-third of the way through my life (God willing). When people say it could be worse, they’re right, it could. The difference between hopelessness and a bad situation is your reaction. I haven’t handled every obstacle with finesse, but I’ve never been unable to handle anything that was thrown my way. I could have sat alone and wallowed in my own sorrow, which I find to be the most counterproductive activity known to mankind. No matter what you’re dealing with A) Someone else has gone through what you’re going through and B) Things could be a lot worse. I’m not a sun is shining down on me optimist. I’m a realist and even when I’m feeling despair, I’ve surrounded myself with positive people who pull me out of the doldrums when my hysteria gets the best of me. Life is the farthest thing from easy, even for those who seem like EVERYTHING always goes their way (see section on jealousy). I’m not always happy, I’m not always content, and I’m not always positive but the one thing that I ALWAYS am is hopeful. I’m hopeful because I’m sure that things will get better. They always do.

It took me a long time to get to where I am now. I try not to hold grudges, I don’t argue with fools (wise man said you can’t tell who is who), and of my 99 problems, not a nary one is a bitch. I have a wonderful family, fabulous friends, and a love for life that keeps me coming back for more. Since I’ve used up about 1/3 of my life, I’m not about to waste the last 2/3 of it on useless emotions.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dawn
    Jul 31, 2010 @ 00:37:37

    So wise beyond 1/3 of your years!! Yaaaay for that good good, classical school training, youve still got that spirit down in your heart and up in your brain!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

