Pants on Da Ground

Recently, one of my friends on twitter challenged me to take a look at Lucky Strikes dress code and not call it racist. I looked at it again and stood by my original statement: The dress code at Lucky Strikes is NOT RACIST.

First, let me define racist:
1. a belief or doctrine that inherent differences among the various human races determine cultural or individual achievement, usually involving the idea that one’s own race is superior and has the right to rule others.
2. a policy, system of government, etc., based upon or fostering such a doctrine; discrimination.
3. hatred or intolerance of another race or other races.

Next is Lucky Strikes dress code:

Dress Code Strictly Enforced

Neat, Casual Fitted Attire

For example the following are not permitted:
– Athletic wear, sweats or sports jerseys
– MC colors (Motorcycle)
– Excessively baggy clothing (Tuck-ins are not permitted)
– Sleeveless T-shirts
– Plain white T-shirts (short or long sleeve)
– Construction boots
– Headgear
– Chains
– Ripped or soiled clothing

Someone please explain to me how any of the above items have to do with a person’s race and how the employees at Lucky Strikes are racist for requiring it’s patrons to dress neatly?  So what opponents to the dress code are saying is that all black people wear chains, Tims, and their “pants on the ground” and all white people polos, khakis and boat shoes?  I know Lucky Strikes is only a bowling alley, but is Tru only restaurant?  We’ve gotten so comfortable dressing like slobs that we get offended when we’re called out on it. Since when  has it become okay to wear a plain white tee-shirt on a first date (you won’t get a second one with me – try it and see)?  My favorite is the big booty chick at work who gets upset when she is sent home because her pants are too tight.  Inappropriate dress has become the norm and now all of a sudden, we want to get mad that someone tells us to take our hats off in a building.  My grandmother would have smacked the shit out of my brothers for wearing their hats inside.

With all that said, the “we” I’m referring to is our generation and the upcoming ones.  I refuse to believe that this is a black problem and I’m not the least bit naive, but when someone says that barring someone from dressing like a hoodlum is racist, I get a bit confused at which individual has the negative image of black and brown people.  I have never been turned away from Lucky Strikes and neither have my loud classmates from Whitney Young’s class of 1997 when we held our 10 year reunion at the River East location.  I do think Lucky Strikes is trying to keep a certain class of people out of their venue, but it has very little to do with race.  Classist and elitist: yes; racist: no.  Now when the dress code includes cornrows, afros, dreads, stars of David, lace fronts, and red and blue micros, let me know because then we have a problem.  Until then, Diversey Bowl and Brunswick doesn’t care what the hell you’re wearing.

Leave a Reply

